Field: Rhode Island, Seton Hall, Vanderbilt and Virginia

(beat Rhode Island, 70-55)

All-Tournament Team:
Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia (MVP)

Kyle Guy, Virginia
Angel Delgado, Seton Hall
Jared Terrell, Rhode Island
Jeff Roberson, Vanderbilt


Field: Florida State, Illinois, Temple and West Virginia

(beat West Virginia, 81-77)

All-Tournament Team:
Obi Enechionyia, Temple (MVP)

Daniel Dingle, Temple
Esa Ahmad, West Virginia
Malcolm Hill, Illinois
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State


Field: Arkansas, Georgia Tech, Stanford and Villanova

(beat Georgia Tech, 69-52)

All-Tournament Team:
Jalen Brunson, Villanova (MVP)

Josh Hart, Villanova
Anthlon Bell, Arkansas
Rosco Allen, Stanford
Charles Mitchell, Georgia Tech

Pre 2015

In November 1985, the NIT Season Tip-Off began as an early season counterpart to the long-standing postseason version of the NIT. First known as the Big Apple NIT, and later the Preseason NIT, the event would go on to serve as a Thanksgiving showcase for many of college basketball’s most recognizable players and coaches for the next three decades. In August 2015, ESPN Events, a subsidiary of ESPN, assumed operation and ownership of the NIT Season Tip-Off – beginning with the 2015 event, moving it to Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. Villanova beat Georgia Tech to win the 2015 title, later earning the Big East conference regular season title and NCAA National Championship.