Five Teams From 2018 Charleston Classic Field Selected For NCAA Tournament

The 2018 Gildan Charleston Classic field features five teams who earned berths in the NCAA Tournament. Below is a look at the field and their 2017-18 accomplishments:

  • Purdue is the #2 seed in the NCAA East Region and enters the tournament with a 28-6 record.
  • Wichita State is the #4 seed in the NCAA East Region and enters the tournament with a 25-7 record.
  • Virginia Tech is the #8 seed in the NCAA East Region.
  • Alabama enters the NCAA Tournament as a #9 seed in the East Region and will face 2018 Charleston Classic participant Virginia Tech in the first round.
  • Davidson is the #12 seed in the NCAA South Region after winning the Atlantic 10 Conference Tournament. The Wildcats will be making their third Charleston Classic appearance.
  • Northeastern tied for the regular season CAA championship and finished with an RPI ranking of 55.
  • Ball State finished 4th in the MAC after posting a non-conference victory over Notre Dame.
  • Appalachian State finished the regular season with their most wins (15) since the 2012-13 season.

Five returning NCAA Tournament teams will be the most in event history, besting the mark of three set in 2013 and 2012. Two participants from the 2017 Charleston Classic were selected to the tournament: Auburn as a #4 seed and Clemson as a #5 seed, both in the Midwest Region.

While tickets won’t go on sale until July, fans can secure a $25 discount now by signing up for access to an exclusive pre-sale period.  Simply visit from March 12-April 2 and follow the directions to sign up.